Select Page

The Research, Extension, and Professional Staff (REPS) of the National Crop Protection
Center (NCPC) participated in the 53rd Anniversary and Annual Scientific Conference of the
Pest Management Council of the Philippines, Inc. (PMCP) on 6-7 July 2021 via a virtual

The event, themed "Conforming Science, Innovation and Legislation Towards a
Progressive Pest Management Resilience in the New Normal," is the first virtual conference
conducted by the PMCP. It was attended by more than 400 participants from various universities,
industries, and agencies in the country.

During the event, the NCPC REPS presented paper and poster presentations and served
as moderators in the society concurrent sessions.NCPC submitted ten entries for the poster presentation and four for the paper
presentations, in addition to four co-authored poster and paper presentations. Among the authors
and co-authors of these papers and posters are current and former NCPC personnel, namely Ms.
Karen Alviar, Ms. Jillian Timple, Mr. John Julius Manuben, Mr. John Emmanuel Tandang, Sci.
Mario Navasero, Ms. Maeden Bato, Dr. Enrico Magalit, Ms. Melissa Montecalvo, Sci. Marcela
Navasero, Mr. Wilson de Panis, Mr. Joseph Manipol, Mr. Randolph Candano, Mr. Jasper
Sarmiento, Mr. Christian June Reyes, Mr. Carl Vincent Gapasin, Mr. Reigner Guitierrez, Mr.
Raymark Matalog, Mr. Melvin Ebuenga, Ms. Mary Joy Beltran, Ms. Maureen Ceres de Roxas,
Mr. Freddiewebb Signabon, Ms. Janren Sarah Macaraig, Mr. Jose Mari Navasero, Ms. Pamela
Grace Apostol, Dr. Marita Pinili, Mr. Angelo Guiam, Mr. Carlo Leo Cabral, and Dr. Pablito

The Opening Ceremonies featured messages from NCPC Director Melvin D. Ebuenga,
UPLB Chancellor Jose V. Camacho, Jr., FPA Executive Director Wilfredo Roldan, and a
keynote speech from DA Secretary William D. Dar. These were followed by the plenary session
and the concurrent scientific sessions and poster presentations of the PMCP societies. These
societies are the Philippine Phytopathological Society, Inc. (PPS), the Weed Science Society of
the Philippines, Inc. (WSSP), and the Philippine Association of Entomologists, Inc. (PAE).
The societies also held an election of new officers. Dr. Marita Pinili of NCPC was elected
board member of the PPS.

The conference ended with the awarding ceremony, oath-taking of the newly elected
officers, and turnover of the PMCP presidency.

Skip to content